League Two season ended due to coronavirus to confirm promotion and relegation


League Two will not resume following the coronavirus pandemic, with the English Football League confirming that clubs have voted in favour of ending the 2019/20 season with immediate effect and determining the final standings via a points-per-game formula.

Swindon Town have been crowned league champions under the formula, which clubs agreed would consist of an unweight home and away record multiplied by the number of outstanding games each club has remaining in the 2019/20 season. Crewe Alexandra and Plymouth Argyle will join Swindon in League One next season, with the top of the league table remaining as it was when the season was suspended in March.

The play-offs will still be played this month, the EFL said on Tuesday, with promotion and relegation also set to go ahead as planned that should see Stevenage relegated to the National League.

However, that could change if Macclesfield Town receive a further points deduction after the EFL brought misconduct charges against the club for failing to pay March salaries, and having already been hit with an 11-point penalty this season, a further sanction could drop them below Stevenage, who are three points adrift of Daryl McMahon’s side. It’s understood that the charge – which Macclesfield have vehemently denied and plan to fight – will be resolved before the play-offs are completed.

The League Two play-offs meanwhile will feature Cheltenham Town, Exeter City, Colchester United and Northampton Town to determine which side is promoted to League One, with fixtures confirmed to begin next Thursday and conclude with a Wembley final at the end of the month.

An EFL statement read: “League Two Clubs have voted by an overwhelming majority to formally end the 2019/20 season.

“The division had previously indicated their preference for curtailment but following today’s Extraordinary General Meeting, Clubs were required to pass a resolution in accordance with Regulation 9A.

“As a result, the final League standings have now been confirmed meaning that Swindon Town have been confirmed as Champions with Crewe Alexandra and Plymouth Argyle securing the second and third automatic promotion places to League One.

“Cheltenham Town, Exeter City, Colchester United and Northampton Town will contest the Sky Bet Play-Offs with the following schedule agreed:

1st Legs

Thursday 18th June

Colchester United v Exeter City – 5.15pm

Northampton Town v Cheltenham Town – 7.45pm

2nd Legs

Monday 22nd June

Exeter City v Colchester United – 5.15pm

Cheltenham Town v Northampton Town – 8.00pm

Final (Wembley Stadium)

Monday 29th June 7.30pm

Leave a reply